Read Across America - Happy Birthday, Dr. Seuss!

Altrusa International of Montrose celebrated “Read Across America” with Passage Charter School on Monday, March 3, 2014. The event included a “Foot Book” story time presented by Jana Ackerman, Altrusa literacy committee chairperson. Everyone was invited to wear fancy socks which were shared and counted.

After reading and singing, a delicious lunch prepared by Karen Byler of Straw Hat Farm was served by members of Altrusa.

The meal was topped off with cookies shaped like feet and hands with fancy finger and toe nails. Board book copies of “The Foot Book,” “Hand FingersThumb”,”Dr. Seuss's ABCs” and “Mr. Brown Can Moo Can You?” were distributed to each Passage Charter School student for their home library as a way of sharing the important message of reading to their children daily, an apt conclusion to a celebration of literacy which was enjoyed and appreciated by all in attendance.

Buy Groceries / Support Altrusa!

Our local Kroger family supermarket, City Market, has been offering donations to Altrusa of Montrose CO Foundation (or the charity of your choice) for a number of years based on purchases by customers with the City Market or King Soopers loyalty card. Recently, we learned that they are revamping the sign-up method for customers to designate a charity to receive donation.

Here's the scoop.

If you would like a percentage of your grocery purchases to be donated by City Market / Kroger to Altrusa of Montrose CO -- even if you previously signed up to do so -- you'll need to visit the City Market website and sign up again.
click to expand
Start by visiting the Community Rewards page.

If you already have a City Market online account, SIGN IN. Otherwise, create a new account (REGISTER).
Once you've created and/or signed in to your account, you can ENROLL NOW to have City Market donate a percentage of your purchases to Altrusa.

click to expand

If you haven't yet set up your Value Card number on your City Market account, you can do that next. You'll need to enter the number from your physical card (or your alternate ID number) on the screen shown to the left. Associating your City Market Value Card with your online City Market account will also result in being eligible to receive coupons for products you already purchase!

click to expand

Are you still with us? Last step!

Under "Community Rewards" search for Altrusa Montrose, or just search for our organization number, 10199.

When you click SEARCH, you should see
Altrusa International Montrose Fnd

That's us.

Click ENROLL and you're finished.

Thank you for supporting Altrusa of Montrose CO Foundation by asking City Market to donate to us whenever you shop with your City Market card.

SMILE! You're supporting Altrusa

Do you ever shop online at Amazon? Here's a totally painless way to support Altrusa of Montrose Foundation!

Instead of going to to shop, start with a smile instead! Once you Get Started with Altrusa as your donation recipient, nearly every purchase you make through Amazon will result in a donation to Altrusa International of Montrose Foundation.

It doesn't cost you anything and it benefits our local community as well as enabling our international projects.

Click the "Get started" button below to begin. Thank you for your support!

Altrusa International of Montrose Foundation Inc